Music

Music: Recent Downloads

I rarely download new music. But when I do download new music, it’s an odd duckling assortment. February 2017 has been no different.

First stop on the download train was two – yes, two – versions of Sugar, Sugar by the Archies. For those of you obsessed with the new show Riverdale, I’m sure you know the song. Riverdale’s Josie and the Pussycats did a kick-ass cover of the song a couple weeks ago (I downloaded that version too, obviously) and I became instantly re-obsessed. So, my iPhone is now home to the original and cover version of the song. For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, please go to Netflix and watch the first few episodes of Riverdale RIGHT MEOW. It’s all dark and twisty and Twin Peak-y and teen-angst-y. So good.

Next up, a few blasts from the pasts. I’m talking Aqua (I’m a Barbie girl, in a Barbie world. Life in plastic, it’s fantastic! – I’ll stop now before I get carried away), Backstreet Boys, NSYNC, and the Spice girls. Can you tell I’m feeling a tad nostalgic right now?

Colbie Caillat has also been added. I just found out who she is now, even though I’ve been obsessed with her songs for years. They make me all warm and tingly inside. My morning/afternoon commutes have been 1000x more pleasant the past couple days, not going to lie.

Last, but never the least, I finally got around to downloading a few tracks off Hedley’s new album. I’ve been listening to Can’t Slow Down on the radio for forever now, and have been meaning to download the song. I shamelessly sing the chorus at the top of my lungs every time I hear it. No shame.

She said Jake you’re a little bit stoned
When you gonna get grown?
Would you just go home?
I’m so not sure
Could you help yourself?
I can’t help you anymore
You’re going faster than me

And that is the random assortment of music that will be my life for the next month.

Reply

