Books

Review: Forged by Erin Bowman

Forged by Erin Bowman is a YA dystopian fiction novel, and the third and final book of the Taken trilogy. The series’ plot is similar to many dystopian YA novels in that it is set in a ruined – and divided – America. The main protagonist learns that his whole life has been a lie, part of a social experiment conducted by a power-hungry dictator. Naturally, he sets out on a mission to make this right/get revenge.

I enjoyed this series way more than I anticipated. The first book wasn’t anything special, but the second grabbed my attention, and the third sealed it in stone. Unlike the previous novels, Forged succeeded in making me cry. Granted, it took 2.8 books to accomplish, but still. Making me feel emotions – especially teary emotions – is a sign of a good book.

This whole series is a giant mind f**k. It makes you question everything you read. Every death, every make-up, every moment between characters. It really was the inception of the Forgery that made this series great for me. I couldn’t trust what I was reading – not myself or my theories. That made me think. I love when books make me think.

Forged also did a great job at tying up all the loose ends. Random stories from other books were seamlessly tied off, leaving no leftover “yeah, okay, and then what?”s. I hate those. Unless there is another book coming, I fully expect ever end to be tied and fused.

I adored the romantic element in the books, too. Sometimes I find that YA doesn’t have enough of the romance I love (this is why I have started to read more NA), but this trilogy had just enough to appease me. I was able to enjoy the story without being annoyed at the lack of mushiness. I like rom-coms and romances, so sue me. Bree and Gray were wonderful. Not co-dependant or pathetic, they were both strong individuals who decided they wanted to be strong together. And they knew this, which made all the difference. Their big moment near the end was perfect, showing that their bond was so much more than physical.

My only issue with the book was the ending. Not the ending, ending, but the final couple pages. I sort of wish there was a teeeeny bit more emotion involved. That, and I still hate Emma. I hated her from book one and I hated her until the end. Don’t care. Hated her. She was dull and inconsistent and just plain underdeveloped. Whatever. Not a huge deal.

I also want to take two seconds to mention the weird bird-symbolism throughout the books. They represent love, obviously, in both of Gray’s relationships. I really hate birds. Couldn’t there have been some cat symbolism instead? Sigh.

Overall rating: 8.5/10.

I will definitely be rereading this series. Maybe not for another few years, but I will get around to it. Unlike so many YA, this series started off meh, and only got stronger.

Reply

