Books

Review: Beautiful Oblivion by Jamie McGuire

obv

Beautiful Oblivion by Jamie McGuire is technically the first book in the Maddox Brothers series, but really it’s just a continuation of the Beautiful world. The book is a NA romance told from Cami the bartender’s POV as she falls head over heals with Trent Maddox.

If you read my review of Something Beautiful, you know that I said there were spoilers about other books. What I didn’t know, was that one of the spoilers was literally THE spoiler of this book. It ruined the ending 100%. I figured out the big ‘secret’ after a few lines into the book. S O P I S S E D. Seriously, if McGuire was going to do that, she should have listed the order on her site instead of implying it could be read whenever. Can you tell I’m pissed? Because I’m pissed. There were no new events or suprises. Predictable. Lame.

The more I read McGuire’s work, the less I value her writing. She just doesn’t understand the concept of a clear timeline; there are too many errors throughout her books for me to ignore it. As someone who writes novels in her spare time – novels that people will probably never even read, but still – I know what it means to research your own freaking book. Have an outline going. Make notes. Something. After Beautiful Disaster, her writing went down hill. How is it that I, a first-time reader of the series, know the sequence of events better than the freaking author?! 

If it’s not obvious by now, timeline is very important to me.

Okay. Moving on now.

While Mcguire’s writing has gotten sloppy, I do still love her characters, which is why I haven’t written her off. Cami and Trent are wonderful. He gives her strength, and she gives him peace. She really comes into her own with him, realizing that she shouldn’t need to try so hard. They are no Trabby, but I still liked them in their own way. While the plot of the book sucked/was spoiled, I still enjoyed getting to know the characters. Kody is adorable. Parker is still a creep. Who knew Brazil was such a tool? Love it.

My favourite part of the book? There was a Buffy the Vampire Slayer reference. Maybe Trent didn’t get it, but I sure did. Team Spike and Buffy forever!!

I also want to note the weird theme of girls with daddy issues going on. Seriously? Can’t we get a touch more original? How about a girl with mommy issues? Is that a thing? Let’s make that a thing. Similarly, I found it a bit weird that Cami and Trent don’t seem to know each other at all at the start, and then suddenly it’s like they’ve always been super involved in each others lives. I’m just going to chalk that up to McGuire’s sloppiness.

Overall, I’ll give the book a 7/10, purely for characterization and relationship-building. It’s a good thing I’m a giant sap when it comes to book romances, otherwise this would be rated much, much lower.

Reply

