Books

Review: Beautiful Redemption by Jamie McGuire

Beautiful Redemption is the second (technically) book in the Maddox Brothers series. The book is told from the POV of Liis Lindy, a FBI analyst that falls in love with the oldest Maddox boy, Thomas (FYI, he is by far the deepest, less crazy, most real, most sexy of the brothers yet).

This was my second favourite McGuire book, right after Beautiful Disaster. The story wasn’t quite as typical as Trent’s story, and it’s the first one yet that 1. Revolved around a girl who didn’t have daddy issues, and 2. That didn’t follow the friends-first storyline. I sort of loved how Liis and Thomas hooked up before they even knew each other, and I also liked the reality of him having loved someone else before. Welcome to the real world!

Liis also happens to be one of my favourite girls so far. Way better than Cami (who I sort of hated in this book?). She’s tough, unemotional, and focused. She was so relatable when she talked about her ex. I love when female characters aren’t mushy and pathetic.

Like I mentioned above, the book did sort of make me hate Cami. Maybe it was supposed to. I just didn’t understand why Thomas couldn’t get over her. It actually annoyed me that it was wrapped up so lamely at the end. The couple went in circles throughout the book, never coming to a resolution. Then BAM. Suddenly it’s all okay. I dunno. I think the writing could have been a bit better. Oh well. I don’t expect much from McGuire anymore other than great characters and steamy love scenes.

On that note, her f*cked up timeline and lack of plot organization still pisses me off, although it wasn’t quite as bad in this book (this is because of less overlap between previous books). Similarly, I counted waaaay too many spelling and grammatical errors for my liking. Who was her editor? Fire them. They suck. I’m pretty sure it was self-published though, so maybe that has something to do with it.

While the book started out great, it weakened around the halfway point, which was disappointing. I feel like McGuire just ran out of ideas. The ending was super lame/not realistic, but I did like the untraditional HEA the epilogue provided. It’ll do.

My favourite quote?

“You’re falling for me?”

“Already at the bottom. Splat.”

Overall, I’m giving the book an 8/10. Again, this is pretty much 100% based on my love of romance and the characterization. I’m a book sap. It’s an issue.

Reply

