Books

Review: Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick

Scrappy Little Nobody is a non-fiction memoir by Singer, Actress, and general ball-of-awesomeness, Anna Kendrick. I don’t typically read non-fiction. I like my books to have more of a plot with action and heroes and villains and made-up lands. But I also love Anna, so I had to give this one a shot.

From the introduction onward, Anna proved to be everything I wanted her to be and more. She’s just so… relatable. Aside from the recreational drug use, I saw a lot of myself in Anna, which was probably the point. She’s so awkward. She’s so…weird.

I am a very, very small weirdo.

A lot of what she described as her lifelong struggles are things that I also struggle with. Size, for one thing. Anna is bite-size (me too, me too!), and like all teeny, tiny women, we have to fight to be taken seriously. It’s not just a challenge, it’s a way of life.

When people look at you and immediately think you’re small and weak and naive, you dedicate a large part of yourself to proving them wrong. You become loud. You become snippy. You become sarcastic and strong and demanding. It’s not being a bitch, it’s called survival.

But here’s the thing about crazy: it. Wants. Out.

This is one of the best lines in the book. Crazy does want out. Crazy will claw at your from the inside, ripping and tearing and screaming until you give it an out. It’s sort of poetic, when you think about it.

From a critiquing point of view, the flow of the book was choppy at parts and mostly non-linear. As I don’t read a lot (any) autobiographies, ect, I don’t know if this is the norm. What can I say? I’m a fiction sort of girl.

Also of note, Anna’s description of Zac Efron made me fall in love. Like, for real, I want a Zac of my own. Please? Pretty please?

And her Harry Potter reference (book Hermione vs movie Hermione) ma.de me fangirl (as anything remotely HP will do).

But, Anna did mention marathoning the movies starting with #3. That’s just WRONG. Here I thought we could be FRIENDS. I feel so betrayed.

Overall, I’m giving the book a 7/10. This is due to a love of Anna, and a dislike of memoirs. The book was funny, relatable, and charming. It was even written better than I expected. My only real qualm is that I would have liked to hear more about her transition into fame. When did she stop having a roommate? Did she freak when she landed Twilight? TELL ME.

P.S.: Anna herself gets a 9.5/10 (I have to dock point for the drugs, because I’m straight-edged like that). Anna, if you ever stumble upon this, can we be BFFs? Let’s be awkward and inappropriate together. I am also small (I will actually make you look tall), and I also enjoy anxious-eating cookie dough.

Reply

