Books

Review: Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush, Hush is a YA fantasy romance novel by Becca Fitzpatrick.

Plot: Nora, a 16-year-old girl whose father was recently murdered, finds herself a new biology partner in Patch, an angel who has fallen from heaven. Patch is bad, bad, bad, but Nora can’t help the intense pull she feels toward him. When she finds herself being hunted, Nora has to figure out which side Patch is truly on.

The book gave me Twilight flashbacks. Except rather than the characters being soft and squishy, they are dark and twisty. There are also many more WTF moments, and a dash more mystery.

I’m not going to lie, I almost gave up on the book after the prologue. I expect books to capture me right from the first page, and if they don’t, I feel annoyed and lose all hope. What can I say? I have a flair for the dramatics.

Anyway, the prologue was weird. Written in third person limited focusing on a random character from ~450 years ago, I was a bit confused. BUT, all was explained eventually, and I ended up really liking what Fitzpatrick went for.

The characters themselves are a bit on the toss-up side. Nora’s partner in crime (literally, apparently), Vee, is downright annoying and not believable as a human. More than once I said “WTF are you doing, Nora? Ditch this girl.” I think Vee was intended to be quirky and dramatic, but she just reminded me of that girl in high school who was teased a lot and reacted horribly. I didn’t like that girl.

Nora was built up slightly better, although I found myself questioning many of her life choices. She just seemed…stupid. I get that she’s a teenage girl, but still. She pegged me as a Nancy Drew sort of chick (Nancy Drew: The Clue of the Ski Mask Stalker), and she seems to follow the YA pattern of a hero who thinks she’s 10x uglier than everyone else thinks she is. So overdone.

I did enjoy Patch and his bad boy thing, but he was also a bit unrealistic. You know, for a fallen angel. He’s edgy and charming, and his flirtatious quips make for a fun paragraph or two, but who wins a car in a game of pool? Like… Is that a thing? Can I get in on that?

In terms of the storyline, I did actually like the overall story. The last handful of chapters (let’s reveal all the mysteries, woohoo!) were interesting, even though I’m not 100% sold on the logistics of everything. There were a few different stories going on throughout the course of the novel, and I liked how Fitzpatrick was able to tie everything up into a cute little bow.

As for the romance, well, I still don’t like insta-love. The story took place over the span of a couple of weeks, which isn’t a great timeline to fall passionately in love. The they finally get together, hooray! moments were also a tad anticlimactic for my liking as well, but neither of these were enough to make me dislike the book.

Overall, I’m giving the book an 8/10. I liked the story, the characters were verging on acceptable, and I’m a sucker for a bad boy with a good heart. Definitely worth a read if you’re a Twilight fan.

Reply

