Books

Review: Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

Crescendo is the second book in the Hush, Hush saga by Becca Fitzpatrick. A YA fantasy romance, the book picks up two months after the first. After saving Nora and becoming a guardian, Patch begins to pull away. Oh noooo. The book is told from Nora’s POV as she struggles to move on, while simultaneously trying to figure out who killed her dad the previous year (beacuse, obviously).

Just like the first, it’s hard not to make the Twilight comparison. As I did actually enjoy Twilight, I don’t mind the similarities. In fact, it’s a large reason why I purchased the series in the first place. Unlike Twilight, the Hush, Hush saga is more mystery/suspense based, which is a nice addition to the romance we all secretly crave.

First up, characterization. I still dislike Vee. I just don’t believe her as a human girl. Yes, many teenagers are annoying (sorry) and self-obsessed (okay, but it’s true), but Vee takes that to the next level. I’ve never met anyone quite like her IRL, so it’s hard for me to relate.

Nora, at least, is more realistic. Other than her Nancy Drew quality, she’s relatable. I found her reactions to the breakup perfect. However, rather than steal a car, I probably would have sucker punched Patch in the nose after the Marcie thing. Maybe I have rage issues. Oh well.

While the book didn’t make me cry (minus a point), there were some genuine LOL moments and I couldn’t piece together the entire mystery, which is alway impressive. I pride myself on my ability to predict everything in every book I read, so when there is even one genuine surprise, I have to give kudos.

Another bonus point for the book is its ability to make me feel rage. When I feel genuinely upset over something that happens (maybe I yell out loud and smack the book against my bed, maybe I don’t) it’s always a great testimony to the writing. I love when books make me feel things, even if it’s anger. I’m talking about Patch, Vee, and Detective Basso here. These characters gave me some real I want to jump into these pages and stab you moments. Always fun, right?

Moving on.

I like how the author accounts for the timeline in her books. If you’ve read my other reviews, you know that I hate an inconsistent timeline. I HATE IT. Even though the days last forever (the whole book takes place over the span of 1-2 weeks), at least they are in proper order and make sense. Seriously, thank you, Fitzpatrick, thank you.

My complaints are as follows:

  1. Why are the memories not from the POV of the person they belong to? Is that not how a memory would work? Just saying…
  2. Why is it that a female angel cannot get pregnant (because they do not have human bodies), but a male angel can get a girl pregnant. If he doesn’t have a human body, he would not have sperm. This made even less sense than Edward’s ability to knock up Bella. At least I could wrap my head around that. If you can find a way to science this for me, please do. DEAD/FAKE HUMANS WOULD NOT HAVE SPERM.
  3. I have some logistical issues with the ending, but I don’t want to give spoilers away.
  4. There were some unanswered questions left at the end that I don’t think will ever get resolved based on what I know about book three. Super annoying. I like my book series to end neatly wrapped with a fancy bow. ANSWER ALL MY QUESTIONS, DAMMIT!

Overall, I’m giving the book an 8.5/10. I loved the story, the mystery, the writing, and even the ending. If you liked Twilight even a little, this series if for you.

 

Reply

