Books, Life & Other Misc.

My Top 5 Comfort Reads

So, I just finished marathoning the Harry Potter films, which has led to a dire need to re-read all the books (naturally). I think Harry Potter is one of those automatic comfort reads for anyone who’s a fan. Whenever you’re sad, bored, nostalgic, sick, ect, it’s nice to pick up a book that you know is good. A book you know inside and out. A book that tastes like a warm, gooey cookie (if books had flavours other than that of paper, of course). Sometimes, you just need to go home. You know?

You don’t need to be an avid reader or an obsessive monster to have some go-to re-reads that make you feel warm, fuzzy, and calm inside. Because I am both an obsessive monster and an avid reader, I have a handful of comfort reads/series:

5 – The Lunar Chronicles.

I read Winter in about 12 hours. That’s over a page a minute, which is a pretty good indicator of how invested I was in the series. I love science fiction and dystopian books, so this series and I were a love at first sight sort of deal.

4 – The Hunger Games.

I’ve loved The Hunger Games ever since I first bought the series. I read all three books in a couple of days (and skipped all of my first-week reading assignments to do it), and I keep going back for more. The universe that Suzanne Collins creates is so interesting that it never fails to suck me in. Also… Peeta.

3 – Twilight.

DON’T JUDGE ME. So what if I love Twilight? So what if I’ve read the series more times than I can count? SO WHAT?

I know you’re judging me right now. That’s cool. I judge me, too.

Say what you will, I maintain that the Twilight saga is a classic of my generation. It’s a cult series. It’s…horrible and addictive and I hate myself. So what? If you’ve read any of my reviews, you know I’m a sucker for romance, and Twilight is romantic. Something about Bella’s thoughts calm me. I can’t help myself.

2 – The Host.

If you judged me for loving Twilight, you are 100% judging me for loving (even more so), Stephenie Meyer’s other, much less popular book. The Host is honestly one of my favourite books of all time. I love the story, I love the characters, I love the romance, I love the overall themes, I just…love this book. Whenever I’m feeling sad, this is where my eyes wander. It doesn’t make me feel better, but it does a good job of helping me get lost.

1 – Harry Potter.

Can we agree that HP speaks for itself? The series has everything. I will be 80 years old and forcing my grandchildren to read these books. The lessons and the magic will never get old. I will re-read this series until dementia claims me and I forget how to read.

What are some of your comfort reads?

4 thoughts on “My Top 5 Comfort Reads”

  1. Without question Harry Potter would be a comfort read. I’m slowly making my way through a re-read, and will be moving onto Prisoner of Azkaban soon. Others might be Vampire Academy — and what I hope to be one as I need to re-read this series too — The Hunger Games.

    1. Oo Vampire Academy is a good one! I read it for the first time last fall and absolutely loved it.

      POA is my favourite in the series. I’m so excited for the illustrated version to come out! Enjoy!!

Reply

