Life & Other Misc.

Review: Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and CityWalk

I spend last weekend and the beginning of this week in Orlando, Florida. While the main part of the trip was the Wizarding World, we decided to spend a good chunk of time exploring Volcano Bay, Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and CityWalk.

I personally enjoyed Universal Studios more, but only because I found theer were more rides to do. While Islands of Adventure was beautifully made, so many of the rides were either large coasters (which we didn’t do) or water rides (which we also didn’t do). While I do like water rides, the idea of spending the day all wet was not fun.

Most of the rides we did (and most of the rides here in general) are 3D. The effects were brilliant, particularly on the Transformers ride and the new Jimmy Fallon’s Race Through New York, which has a virtual line and a gorgeous waiting room. Aside from the Wizarding World, these two were definitely my favourite.

Another favourite was the Minions ride, just because it was soooo cute.

Universal Studios is also the home of Springfield, which was 10-year-old me’s dream. I even went to Lord Lad’s doughnuts (sooooooo good) and Krusty Burger (literally the most disgusting thing I have ever eaten).

While Universal Studios had the best rides, Islands of Advenure had the best worlds. The details were incredible. Each land you walk into is so different from the last, it was easy to spend hours exploring each. My two favourites were Seuss Landing and The Lost Continent.

I felt like I was walking through a book while here. Since all the rides were for kids, I didn’t go on any, but I had a blast taking pictures. If you have kids, you need to bring them here. Now. Yesterday. Go, go, go!!

The Lost Continent was just plain gorgeous.

I have no idea how they built this place, but wow. All I wanted to do was climb on the rocks, but apparently that’s not allowed. Sigh.

This land is also the home of Mythos, the world’s best theme park restaurant (for real). This place was like nothing I had ever seen. Waterfalls and rock formations inside? Sign me up! Also, look at the butter. It was almost too pretty to eat. Almost.

After all the theme park fun, we spent a couple of nights roaming CityWalk. All I’m going to say here is that the food is unreal. If you only eat one thing while you’re in Orlando, eat at The Toothsome Chocolate Emporium. Yes, you will get diabetes. Yes, it will be worth it.

I also got to go to MargaritaVille! I don’t actually like Margaritas. But… I still spent almost $20 CAD to drink one here.

Overall, these areas are perfect. 10/10. I highly recommend a park-to-park pass. While no area was perfect on its own, together they are incredible. Good food (in some areas), good rides (in some areas), good scenery (everywhere!!). It’s great for kids, teens, adults, and even grandparents (I actually saw little old couples strolling around. Precious).

PS: There is a construction show done in Universal Studios a handful of times each day. If you are a woman, I suggest you go see. Just saying.

Reply

