Books

Review: The Vincent Brothers by Abbi Glines

The Vincent Brothers by Abbi Glines is a sequel (of sorts) to The Vincent Boys focusing on the love story between Sawyer, Ash’s reject, and her cousin, Lana. I say that the book is ‘sort of’ a sequel, because you don’t really need to read the first to get the second. I’m sure it would help with context, but the story stands on its own for the most part.

Like the first, the book is a YA romance. Still trying to get over Ash (and get vengence, of course), Sawyer decides to play around with Lana, who just so happens to be madly in love with him (because apparently Vincent boys are made of undiluted sex appeal).

I wasn’t expecting to love this book for the simple fact that I didn’t love the first and I hated Sawyer. Hated. Him. It just so happens that I was pleasantly surprised. Unlike the first book, the pace and flow of #2 were much, much better. I didn’t find the book mislabeled or dull. It held my attention from start to finish. And, it turns out Sawyer is swoon worthy aftterall. I actually believed him as a human character.

The book was steamy, but not so much so that it couldn’t be classified as YA. It was romantic and charming, yet not unbelievably so.

I’m not going to lie, I am shocked at how much I prefered Sawyer and Lana to Beau and Ash. Both characters had more depth to them than I found with Ash and Beau in book #1, and I found myself breezing through the book in less than a day.

My only issues with the book were how Lana was initially described as being unattractive until she died her hair, bought revealing clothes, and started wearing makeup (terrible message–eye roll) and how Sawyer dropped everything to help Ash, who had a MIGRAINE. Like Jesus, it wasn’t Ebola. She was FINE.

Overall, I’m giving the book an 8.5/10. It’s a perfect light, summer romance read and I definitely recommend it. Colour me pleasantly surprised.

Reply

