Books

Review: The Edge of Never by J.A. Redmerski

The Edge of Never is a NA romance told from the alternating POV of Camryn, a 20-year-old struggling through the routines of everyday life and Andrew, a 25-year-old sometimes-model mourning his soon-to-be-dead father. After meeting on a Greyhound bus in Kansas, the two begin to fall for each other despite their hesitations and baggage (in the metaphorical sense).

My first impression of this book went a little like this: “Why doesn’t the author use the Oxford comma? I like the Oxford comma. Where the **** is it??!”

When I got past that small (huge) hurdle, I was faced with the fact that Camryn was whiney and annoying, and her BFF Natalie was the biggest bitch ever. I found it quite predictable from beginning to end, and a little hard to get through in general.

Once Andrew comes into the story things got a tad more interesting.

“I’m not violent in general, only to douchebags and occasionally, myself.”

He was a sweetie who had the whole bad on the outside but sweet as hell on the inside thing going, yet I found his chemistry with Cam only moderate. Typically NA is steamy, and although there were a few moments throughout, I found it a little lackluster. I think the author was going for a sexual awakening theme, which is common in NA, and I will give her credit for doing her best. I liked the fact that Cam wasn’t a virgin and therefore broke that way-too-common pattern, but still… I just couldn’t get into it. It was only ever meh.

The fact that Cam was constantly called babe/baby by Andrew drove me up-the-wall insane as well. THEY WEREN’T EVEN DATING. WHY ARE YOU CALLING HER BABE? Mixing it up never hurt anyone, either… Just saying.

At the end, when I finally thought the story had redeemed itself with a beautiful ending, the last chapter came out of nowhere and tied things up with the most ridiculous bow EVER. It just didn’t fit, not to mention the fact that it was rushed. It had the chance. It ruined the chance. It is not forgiven.

Overall, I’m giving the book a 6/10. There is a sequel, which I am going to attempt to work my way through next, but my hopes are not high. Oh well. Can’t win them all.

Reply

