Books

Review: The Edge of Always by J.A. Redmerski

The Edge of Always is a NA romance and the sequel to The Edge of Never. Like the first, it follows the love story of Camryn and Andrew, picking up where the first book left off.

Now, I wasn’t impressed with book 1, and book 2 was just plain garbage. Like…easily one of the worst books I have read this year. Aside from the fact that the guy on the cover is hot AF, the book was unnecessary and offered absolutely nothing to the story.

The book was so dull that it took me over a week to read it, which isn’t like me. I just couldn’t bring myself to flip the pages. While the first book was mildly sexy and interesting, this book was neither.

The 400 page novel skips years ahead, touching on serious issues and then just…not. It had the potential to be interesting, in theory, but it was sort of like the author just wanted us to know what happened to her characters, rather than tell us an actual story. I’m not sure what she was going for, but it did not work.

There was one quote that I really liked, just because it’s so relevant to life in general:

“And I left that day with an even bigger hole in my heart than I had when I went there looking to fill it. And every day after that, whenever I tried to envision it like I used to, I couldn’t.”

I wish I had more to say, but the story just didn’t provide me with much material. If you’re debating reading this book, or the first, I highly recommend you re-evaluate your life choices. I most certainly am.

Overall, a 4/10. I’m bitter that I wastes a week of my life and offer to apologies.

Reply

