Books

Review: Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Sweet Evil is a YA fantasy novel told from the POV of Anna Whitt, a notorious good girl who, as it turns out, is half-demon. I picked up this series because I love dark fantasy, and this book did not disappoint.

The premise diverts from your typical good girl, bad boy story in that it’s not a desire to be bad, it’s an actual need. After meeting Kaiden Rowe (I think this is my new favourite name, btw. If I ever have a kid who is a boy…) Anna finds herself drawn to the darkness in him. Not soon after, she learns that not only is Kaiden the son of a demon (lust), she also has a demon for a father (substance abuse). This leads Anna down a path of self-discovery and adventure, along aside the dreamy Kaiden.

I loved the complexity and growth that Anna’s character experiences throughout the duration of the book. She’s sweet and different, yet entirely relatable. Often times I find myself hating on female leads, but I have no complaints this round.

What’s more, I loved all the religious undertones of the book. I’m by no means a religious person, but the way the story was told, none of those typically off-putting elements were… well, off-putting. For a fantasy, I genuinely found many points of the story believable. Nothing was stretched too far out of the realm of possibility, and yet the world that is created is still unique.

I also want to take a moment to comment on the pace of the book. If you’ve read any of my reviews, you know that pace and timeline are a touchy area for me. I’m very picky, and I hate when a story is rushed, too slow, or inconsistent. I found the pace of Sweet Evil to be natural and interesting. There were a lot of time-jumps and events in the book, but they all added to the overall story that was being told.

My only issue with the book is how when one of the British characters calls someone love, it’s spelled luv. THAT’S NOT A WORD. Ugh.

Favourite quote:

“If life was a game, like everyone said, I wanted to win. I held up my hands to the heavens. Deal me in.

Overall, I’m giving the book a 9/10. Best read I’ve experienced in a while. It gave me Mortal Instruments and Hush, Hush vibes; however, I enjoyed this book more that I did either of those series. I have high hopes for books 2 & 3.

3 thoughts on “Review: Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins”

Reply

