Books

Review: Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins

Sweet Reckoning is the final book in the Sweet Evil trilogy, a YA fantasy told from the POV of Anna, a half-angel, half-demon destined to save the world (because obviously).

I thoroughly enjoyed this series, and I recommend it to anyone who is a lover of dark fantasy and romance. The issues the book deals with are biggies, such as faith, purity, and death. While I didn’t agree with all the author’s ideas, I love when large issues are tackled. Also, the book made me cry, soo… points.

On that note, the ending was flawless. What needed to happen happened, and everything was tied together in a sweet little bow (see what I did there?). As I said, I cried. Not a dramatic ugly cry, but definitely a few chapters’ worth. In my mind, that means something was done right.

In my other reviews, I mentioned how interesting I found the religious aspects of the book. As an expressly areligious person, I always find it interesting to learn about concepts such as death told from a perspective of faith. My only real qualm was how sex before marriage was presented as such a monumental sin. I really don’t think God cares if you get it on before he puts a ring on it. Just saying.

In addition to the powerful themes and messages, the book also provided a few LOL moments, which are always nice. “Big Rotty” is all I’m going to say. I made vocal sounds of laughter, which is rare for me while reading.

The romance throughout the series was actually a tad lighter than I originally expected, but the story itself was good enough that I didn’t mind as much as I usually would. I still adore Kai, and I loved the softer side of him we got to see in this book. The steamy parts were a little lackluster, though. Oh well.

Overall, I’m giving the book an 8/10. Good writing; good story; good characters. What more can a girl ask for?

Reply

