Books

Review: The Map of Bones by Francesca Haig

The Map of Bones is a YA science-fiction/fantasy/dystopian novel telling the story of Cass, an Omega seer, who is on a journey to find Elsewhere (a land without Alphas and Omegas), and stop her evil brother from destroying the world. Because obviously.**

** sidenote: No matter how I describe a book, it always sounds extra lame/cliché. Could I put in more effort? Sure. Will I? Probably not.

I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in the series, The Fire Sermon; however, the sequel was a letdown. The book took me almost 2 weeks to read; it was unable to grab my attention and pull me in. Disappointing, I know.

“These days, it seemed that was the only gift we had to offer one another: the gift of our own deaths.”

I can’t pinpoint what made the book so hard to read. A small portion may be allotted to the fact that, one-quarter into the book, I discovered that the final book, The Forever Ship, was delayed in its release. Now it won’t be out until December, and frankly, I’m not a very patient person. I typically wait until a full series has been released before I read it, so learning 1.25 books too late that this was not the case = super annoying.

Typical-second-book-slump aside, the final quarter was much easier to read. Revelations were made, drama ensued, etc. I definitely will read book 3 (when it freaking comes out!!!), but I’m not going to count the days.

The book had zero romance, and as far as I was concerned, the only redeemable character was Zoe, who I didn’t even like that much. I find that Cass, while obviously going through the typical YA character transition, isn’t very interesting. I wanted more depth from her that never came (& I don’t have high hopes, either).

Overall, I’m giving the book a 6/10. I didn’t love it, but didn’t hate it enough to toss it out a window or write off the series as a whole. I will say, though: I really wish more authors would start adding unusual complexities into their characters.

Could this mean I’m slowly getting over YA? If anyone has any stellar YA fantasy/science-fiction books/series they can recommend, I would love to hear them.

Reply

